Author Topic: Belt vs. Direct Drive  (Read 10538 times)

Offline Slim-Shaddy

• CARVER KILLER!!!
  • Tubes are for boobs
    • This is Bullshit
Belt vs. Direct Drive
« on: January 07, 2010, 06:03:37 PM »
I can't believe this discussion hasn't been started yet!! I'm a fan of belt myself. Any way to isolate the motor seems smart to me. Of course if you are DJing the quick start-up and lack of belt wear and replacement of DD would obviously have it's perks.
I am confident that an SL-1200 is capable of outperforming turntables of much higher expense with minor modification.

Offline e_just

• Double Secret Probation!
Re: Belt vs. Direct Drive
« Reply #1 on: January 07, 2010, 06:18:14 PM »
 I have been DJing for many years and wouldn't dream of using anything other than Direct Drive, turntables, specifically Technics SL1200 or 1100A. That is, when I'm DJing.
 I have been planing on buying a better Belt Driven TT for home listening. I am currently using a Goldring GR1 which is identical to a Rega P1. For sound quality, I think belt drive wins.
Pioneer SA-9100 TX-9100 SA 5200 CT F7272 HPM-100, KLH 5, 6, 17,  Marantz 1060, Technics 1100A, 1200m3d, Thorens TD111, Goldring GR1

Offline Kingman

• Southern Commander
  • OCCD...I GOT IT BADD!!!!!!!!!
« Reply #2 on: January 07, 2010, 06:28:29 PM »
I've got 3 working and 3 non belt drives and 2 direct that work. I love the ole belt (cause I'm old!) , but the direct drive is a good table too! If I were gonna buy a new one, I would go with direct drive. But all I buy is old stuff!!!!!  8) 8) 8)
IN REALITY IT ONLY MATTERS WHAT IT SOUNDS LIKE TO YOU!!!!!

BB3

« Reply #3 on: January 07, 2010, 06:33:02 PM »
You'll have to excuse my ignorance on the subject matter Gents. But the only Turntables that I ever recall listening to, was a Garrard(sp.?) and then later on I guess was a fairly high end Technics that I know was Direct Drive and unfortunately I can't recall the model# to it. ??? :-[