Author Topic: Styli replacement?  (Read 4322 times)

Offline gdv

• Audio Connoisseur
Styli replacement?
« on: July 18, 2014, 10:23:34 AM »
Deciding if I want to get replacement styli for the following cartridges...

Shure M95ED
ADC QLM
Technics P23

Please shoot me your thoughts/comments...  I'm only leaning toward getting a stylus for the M95ED...

thanks!
George
5 out of 4 people have trouble with fractions...

Offline MacGeek

• Ready For Intervention!
Re: Styli replacement?
« Reply #1 on: July 18, 2014, 10:37:53 AM »
Not sure of the cost, but believe the Sure might be worth it.  I have no experience with the others.
Mac stuff, Sony HDR-F1HD AM/FM/HD tuner, Denon DRS 810 cassette, Denon CDR-W1500 CD recorder, Music Hall MMF-9 w/B&O MMC2, B & O 4002 w/B & O 20 CL, Revox A-77

Offline gdv

• Audio Connoisseur

Offline Reverend

« Reply #3 on: July 18, 2014, 11:24:46 AM »
A word of caution.  Don't use a generic replacement stylus's like GDV has noted.  They are junk and you will not get the proper factory sound back.  Spend a little extra money and make sure it's a Shure/ADC/Technics branded stylus.

Offline gdv

• Audio Connoisseur
Attn Rev...
« Reply #4 on: July 18, 2014, 01:19:02 PM »
Where can you purchase a "Shure branded" stylus where I'm not breaking the bank?

Thanks!!!
George

Offline StephenWVU

• Audio Geek!
« Reply #5 on: July 18, 2014, 01:27:45 PM »
I second Rev, I had a generic replacement of a shure stylus and it was bad.  It should have felt bad. 
Speakers: Nearfield Acoustics Pipedreams Reference 18
Amplifier:
Mark Levinson ML3 (subs)
Phison A2.120SE (towers)
Preamplifier/DAC/Phono: Phison PD2SE
Server: Pi & NUC
Turntable: VPI HR-X, VdH Colibri XGW

Offline Reverend

« Reply #6 on: July 18, 2014, 02:22:45 PM »