Author Topic: Noob... one letter shy of "boob"  (Read 5051 times)

Offline Mad Dog

• FNG !!!
Noob... one letter shy of "boob"
« on: August 22, 2014, 02:10:11 PM »

I know it's proper etiquette to offer an introduction before I start randomly posting nonsense and annoying the regulars. I've been lurking on here for a couple of days picking up info on tube amplifiers. I've been thinking about going this route for a while so I can get that rich sound out of my vinyl records. In my research I realized that getting one of the newer tube amplifers on the market is at the dollar level of unobtanioum, so I figured I'd look for something vintage and then spend a equal amount or greater tweaking it and tuning it to my liking. I'm new to electronics, but in doing some research, this stuff doesn't seem too far beyond my skillset, I mean, I've changed electrical outlets before. I can fathom most of what people are talking about when it comes to repairs, and some of the schematics I've looked at aren't at a Stephen Hawking reading level.  I'm not sure what brand I'm going to settle on, but the Dynaco line intrigues me. Seems there are a lot of them out there and a lot of upgrade parts available... at least that's what E-Bay is seducing me with.

Brendan

Offline Sir Thrift-a-Lot

• Ready For Intervention!
Re: Noob... one letter shy of "boob"
« Reply #1 on: August 22, 2014, 03:58:28 PM »
IMHO, start with a console pull.   Nice sound for very little investment and if you screw it up on a newb error, it's not much of a loss.   Some of the kits are also a good way to go.   I have a Magnavox 8802 which is way too small a working space for my ham fisted soldering, so I plan to use the iron to make a Budgie SE.

http://www.parksaudiollc.com/budgiese.html

$40 for the PCB and lots of free tech support.   With my free iron, I should be able to do the whole project for under $100.

Offline Reverend

« Reply #2 on: August 22, 2014, 04:30:35 PM »